The Body in the Dales (A Yorkshire Murder Mystery Book 1)

£9.9
FREE Shipping

The Body in the Dales (A Yorkshire Murder Mystery Book 1)

The Body in the Dales (A Yorkshire Murder Mystery Book 1)

RRP: £99
Price: £9.9
£9.9 FREE Shipping

In stock

We accept the following payment methods

Description

Underneath” by Anne Goodwin – Book Review #NovNov23 #novella @inspiredquill #Underneath#BookReview November 22, 2023

But... If I try to ignore the narration, I can't say that much of the story actually stayed with me for very long after the book was over. Many of the suspects they encounter in their investigations are experienced cavers, some of them are even on the cave rescue team. It would seem that local knowledge is the key to solving the case. Motives are many, but HOW and by WHOM was Atkins murdered? I was in two minds as to whether to give this four or five stars. On the one hand, I really enjoyed it and thought it was a great start to a series. On the other hand, I don't like to give out a lot of five stars and I think that while this was good, there is still room for even better in later books. So, I'm going with a four plus.As I mentioned earlier, the setting is one of my favourites. The Yorkshire Dales holds an endless fascination for me. The plotting was reminiscent of the traditional mysteries of Agatha Christie, Dorothy Sayers, etc. This made a nice change from the more convoluted thriller plots I've been reading recently. Written like a perplexing puzzle, the novel appealed on that level as well - I can never ignore a good puzzle. It had a slowish start, and I did rather keep glancing down to see what percentage of the book I’d read, but I was engaged by about 20%, I think. That may also have been because I was reading it when I wasn’t in full health and so was tired. The central mystery of how the body got to where it was found was quite intruiging, and I was happy that I got to the answer before the police did!! The motive for the murder was — do you know, I can’t remember! I think it was believable (which isn’t always the case!) The ending of this whodunit was tied up neatly. Nothing far-fetched, just believable, sound police work. The coppers displayed keen observational skills and some astute knowledge of human nature.

As with many traditional mystery stories, the novel opens with the discovery of a body. The man was found deep in a cave called "The Jingling Pot". He was not equipped with caving gear, and since there had been a team of cavers in that location just a few days previously, it was a mystery why they had not found him sooner. He had been dead for over a week. The victim is identified as Dave Atkins, a local rogue and financial speculator. He was an unpleasant man who was not liked by many - a fact that leaves the police with no shortage of viable suspects. This murder mystery set in Yorkshire is the beginning of a new series featuring DI Oldroyd and his team. Originally titled “The Body in Jingling Pot”, it has recently been re-published as “The Body in the Dales”, a shame in my opinion as the former name has more character, stands out, and more accurately sums up what it’s about. At this point there are two more books to look forward to.

Then send the following text to the bot

Thanks to NetGalley, Thomas and Mercer, and J. R. Ellis for giving me all three books in the Yorkshire Murder Mystery series for me to read in return for my honest review. A guy hated by all is found dead at the bottom of the cave. A new detective is in town. An old detective finds himself married to his job way more than he was married to his wife. By the end of the book a lot of knots get untangled. Some to be untangled in the next installments. Plus, he's the narrator of the Detective Lavender Mysteries and I had a huge semi-problem with that series too, simply because... He is Dr. Watson! Top Five Tuesday: 5 books that I’m thankful for in 2023 #Top5Tuesday #TuesdayBookBlog @MeeghanReads#TopFiveTuesday November 21, 2023 And finally, there was too much head-hopping for me, too many viewpoint changes – within the same paragraph at times.

Nothing to make this outstanding, but then nothing I really disliked either. Worth continuing on with the series I think. Revised edition: Previously published as The Body in Jingling Pot , this edition of The Body in the Dales includes editorial revisions. And finally, there was too much head-hopping for me, too many viewpoint changes - within the same paragraph at times. To my knowledge, there are three novels featuring this police team and I intend to read them all. Recommended!

A Note From the Publisher

I'm reading book two right after this one, followed by book three, hopefully before the release date. It's truly a fantastic and addictive series!! Perfect for fans of Midsomer Murders, The Body in the Dales has everything that readers crave - an unusual murder, a wide cast of colorful suspects, a chocolate box village where everyone knows everyone, and a likable group of detectives led by an easygoing but brilliant DCI. On a very random note, this book taught me that you go "spelunking" in the US and Canada. The Brits apparently go "potholing".

J.R.Ellis need to be congratulated for writing a murder-mystery in such a way that every step on the road of solving the mystery is even more interesting than the actual ‘whodunit’. I found the story to be quite repetitive. Whatever the team found out was repeated every time someone new was brought in. And I wanted to skim-read these parts. I almost gave up reading, too, at once point. but I'm glad I soldiered on.J.R. (John) Ellis is an Oxford graduate and has had a long career teaching English. He has always been fascinated by the paranormal and by mysteries, conspiracy theories and unexplained crimes. As with many traditional mystery stories, the novel opens with the discovery of a body. The man was found deep in a cave called “ The Jingling Pot“. He was not equipped with caving gear, and since there had been a team of cavers in that location just a few days previously, it was a mystery why they had not found him sooner. He had been dead for over a week. The victim is identified as Dave Atkins, a local rogue and financial speculator. He was an unpleasant man who was not liked by many – a fact that leaves the police with no shortage of viable suspects.



  • Fruugo ID: 258392218-563234582
  • EAN: 764486781913
  • Sold by: Fruugo

Delivery & Returns

Fruugo

Address: UK
All products: Visit Fruugo Shop